Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,


Reblogged from  www.cyberbrethren.com

(COMPENDIUM NOTE: Martin Luther’s interpetation of the Bible is as appropriate today as it was when he wrote these words. You can read each one at CYBERBRETHREN as we have just a sample here. Enjoy!)
Daily Luther: How to Fight Your Feelings with the Word of God

For if you want to judge according to what you see and feel, and if you, when God’s Word is held before you, hold your feeling against that, saying: “You are indeed telling me much, however, my heart is telling me far differently, and if you felt what I feel, you, too, would talk differently, etc.,” then you do not have God’s Word in your heart; this has been suppressed and extinguished by your own ideas, reason, and reflections. In short, when you no longer accord the Word greater validity than your every feeling, your eyes, your senses, and your heart, you are doomed, and you can no longer be helped. For this is called an article of faith, not one of your reason or wisdom, nor of human power or ability. Therefore here, too, you must judge solely by the Word, regardless of what you feel or see. I, too, feel my sin and the Law and the devil on my neck…

Read more…
http://cyberbrethren.com/2012/07/20/daily-luther-how-to-fight-your-feelings-with-the-word-of-god/

