Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,


REBLOGGED FROM UTAH-LUTHERAN By Rev. Bror Erickson

Ephes. 4:1-6 (ESV)
I therefore, a prisoner for the Lord, urge you to walk in a manner worthy of the calling to which you have been called, [2] with all humility and gentleness, with patience, bearing with one another in love, [3] eager to maintain the unity of the Spirit in the bond of peace. [4] There is one body and one Spirit—just as you were called to the one hope that belongs to your call— [5] one Lord, one faith, one baptism, [6] one God and Father of all, who is over all and through all and in all.

I therefore, a prisoner for the lord, urge you to walk in a manner worthy of the calling to which you have been called.
“Have been called” this short 6 verse passage of scripture is so filled with theological insight for the life of the church and evangelism that it is no wonder it has been turned into one of the most beloved hymns of recent history in “The Church’s One Foundation.” Yet the full import of this passage is hardly realized in Christianity today. It is probably best realized in the pen of Martin Luther when he writes his explanation to the third article of the Apostles Creed. “I believe I cannot by my own reason or strength believe in Jesus Christ my Lord or come to him, but the Holy Spirit has called me by the gospel, enlightened me with his gifts, sanctified and kept me in the one true faith….” I tell you, I read theology, I’m a glutton for it, I’ve learned several different languages in my pursuit of great theology, and yet I never tire of Luther’s Small Catechism. You don’t get better theology than what is presented in that little gem, and when you know your scriptures, it doesn’t take much to realize that Luther is all but just quoting it, as he uses the tenants of Ephesians 4:1-6 to explicate the third article of the creed.
The calling to which you have been called, the life of grace, life in the church, the sanctified life you have been given when the gospel, the forgiveness of sins Jesus Christ won for you on the cross was applied to you in the one holy baptism our Lord Jesus Christ instituted for this purpose, that having been baptized you would know you have been sanctified, you have been forgiven, made holy , justified, born again, renewed, regenerated, and a bunch of other words all which mean you have been called, you have been saved.

READ MORE…

http://www.utah-lutheran.blogspot.com/2012/09/evangelism-is.html

