Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,


REBLOGGED from CYBERBRETHREN.COM By Rev. Paul T. McCain

I watched, very carefully, the first episode of “The Bible.” I have been intrigued since the series was first drawn to my attention, and read all I could about it, and watched all the materials available on “The Bible” web site. Now, before anyone says, “Oh, boy, here we go again, another conservative grumpy Lutheran who can’t find anything good, ever, to say about anything a non-Lutheran does” I simply want to say, “Yes, I am a conservative Lutheran, and yes, I can be grumpy.” In this case, I was quite ready and willing to give it the benefit of the doubt, in spite of the “theological advisors” the series gathered, from non-Trinitarians like T.D. Jakes, to Mr. Smiley/No Gospel man, Joel Osteen, to Mr. Purpose-Driven Rick Warren. I recognize that to make a project like this successful you have to try to appeal to the largest possible audience and the way to do that is by getting the input from a wide range of well recognized “celebrity pastors.” OK, fine, I get that; however….here are concerns I had. I invite you to offer your observations. If you disagree with this critique, please provide detailed responses to the concerns and tell me why you don’t agree.
LUTHERANBIBLE-333x500<
READ MORE…
http://cyberbrethren.com/2013/03/06/the-bible-is-not-the-bible-thoughts-on-the-history-channels-the-bible-miniseries/

