Concordia and Koinonia

The Son of Man came eating and drinking, and they say, ‘Look at him! A glutton and a drunkard, a friend of tax collectors and sinners!’ Yet wisdom is justified by her deeds. (From the Gospel reading: St. Matthew 11:12–19)

 The fall back position of men and women when caught in wrong is always self-justification resulting at times, for instance, a VIP in an abject apology on television and conveyed through social networking. The accused usually deflects his blame.  Bad advice, bad company, bad upbringing (you know, my parents), peer pressure…Why did you eat of  the tree that I said you should not?  It was the woman YOU gave me that made me eat.    My favorite is when a politician in order to self-justify a bad decision says, “I take full responsibility”.  Oh, really.  So someone is going to fire you?  I take full responsibility for my actions?  Really. 

 In fact, self-justifications do…

View original post 1,601 more words

